Message sent from:


Information about the curriculum at Chatsworth
Early Years Foundation Stage: Nursery and Reception

The Early Years Foundation Stage framework, followed by the school, promotes teaching and learning that gives children a broad range of knowledge and skills.  It provides the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.

Our topic based educational programme is shaped by the seven areas of learning and development.  The three ‘prime’ areas are: communication and language; physical development and personal, social and emotional development.  These are particularly important in igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning.  These areas are strengthened and applied in four ‘specific’ areas: literacy, mathematics, understanding the world and expressive arts and design.  Curriculum overviews are available here

The school works to strengthen children’s knowledge and understanding in all of these important areas.  Through observations, their progress is assessed as they work towards seventeen early learning goals.  These cover the knowledge, skills and understanding that children should have at the end of the academic year in which they turn five.

At the end of the Early Years Foundation Stage, the EYFS Profile is completed for each child.  As part of this, each child’s level of development against the early learning goals is assessed.  Parents, carers and teachers are then provided with a well-rounded picture of each child’s knowledge, understanding and abilities.

Key Stage One: Years One and Two

The National Curriculum for Key Stage One and Two is designed to provide a broad and balanced curriculum that meets the needs and interests of all learners.  The curriculum at Key Stage One consists of the following ‘core’ subjects: English, Mathematics, Science and Computing (ICT) and ‘foundation’ subjects: Art and Design, Design and Technology (DT) Geography, History, Music, Personal, Social and Health Education (PSHE), Physical Education (PE) and Religious Education (RE).

The mathematics and literacy frameworks are followed to effectively deliver these two subjects.  Other subjects are delivered through half termly topics. Curriculum overviews are available here and detail how the curriculum subjects are delivered on a half termly basis.  Through its curriculum programme, the school seeks to develop each pupil in a way that fully prepares them for their future.

At the end of Key Stage One in Year Two, teachers must use their knowledge of the pupils throughout their time in Key Stage One as well as other ongoing teacher assessments to level the children in reading, writing, speaking and listening, mathematics and science. The children will also take statutory national curriculum tasks and tests in reading, writing and mathematics as part of this process and the results of these will help inform the final teacher assessment judgement.  Parents are informed of the teacher assessment levels for both their children and the school overall and the levels are also reported to the local authority.  

Religious Education (RE) is taught according to the Bexley Agreed Syllabus.  A copy can be obtained from Bexley Education Authority here.

Links - please click to open

Early Years Foundation Stage Framework
Download a copy of the statutory EYFS framework

Primary National Curriculum
View the programmes of study for each of the subjects taught in key stage one.

What is Physical Literacy?
Find out why it is important to be Physically Literate.

Hit enter to search